Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
Occasionally you find someone here who finds any of the assorted "colon cleansing" routines helps them (whether it is colon hydrotherapy, massive doses of fiber, or massive doses of purgative herbs...depending on which proticol you are looking at).The people who promote all these things will always tell you it cures IBS, as they tend to promote these colon cleansings as able to cure every single ill every human ever had
Some of these things may also cause some IBSers any world of problems as they won't tolerate the treatment well.The colon is self-cleaning and doesn't need serious intervention to remove anything from it. It does a good job of that all on it's own.K.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I have extensive experience with this (fortunately or unfortunately).about 10 years ago (in my mid-20's) I began to have severe constipation. At the age of 29 I presented with lower right quadrant pain. The doctor determined that it was not appendicitis (after nasty tests) and that I was VERY constipated (duh). Turns out that 30 grams of fiber daily just wasn't doing it for me. After trying everything under the sun I stumbled upon a product called "colon cleanse" with senna in it. The first day I used it I felt like I was eliminating things I hadn't even eaten yet. I felt great. I then used about two pills per day for over a year. This helped the constipation. When I was 31 I was finally diagnosed with IBS after a colonoscopy ruled out Crohn's disease and cancer. After the colonoscopy and with a completely food-free colon I decided I no longer want to rely on Colon Cleanse. I just didn't think it was a good idea - although my doc knew what I was taking and how often and was not bothered by it.Now, I eat scandanavian crisp bread every day and use Colon Cleanse only when things seem backed up. Usually one day of taking it (you have to take about 8 pills throughout the day)