Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been coping with IBS constipation for over 20 years. I've been on everything the GI docs could find to help me. I finally took it into my own hands and started all natural treatments. I have a big glass of prune juice with pulp every morning, along with a bowl of fiber one cereal, blueberries, nuts and raisins. Most of the time, I do indeed have a bowel movement, but ONLY if I stay home and relax for several hours. This has affected my life drastically. I can't make any social arrangements or appointments before noon because if I do, I can't have a BM and if I don't have a BM, I feel miserable. It is all taking a toll on me and I fear I have become bowel obsessed. I don't know how to stop this awful cycle. The truth is, I do indeed feel miserable and it affects my bladder as well if I can't go. This means no travel, no house guests (because my 'quiet' time is interupted and I have no results). Somehow, I have it in my head that I HAVE to have a BM every day. This isn't true is it? HOw do I get off of this crazy cycle? I have had a sitz marker test and it was very abnormal. That said, I do not want to do the drastic bowel surgery. I have proven that it is possible to manage without the surgery, but at the cost of life quality. Does anyone else feel this way? Can anyone offer a suggestion. I've also worked myself into a state of mind that if I don't have a BM in the morning, I panic. I have started to feel that I must be blocked for good or there is a disease process beginning....etc. I feel like I'm going insane. What should I do to stop these panic attacks. I truly fear for my sanity now.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts