Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this and ran across this forum. It's been a blessing to read others having similar issues so I don't feel so isolated.I basically have the immediate urge to BM caused by loss-of-control environmental situations, mostly based on traveling. I'm good if driving, uncomfortable if stuck in traffic and unfamiliar with my surroundings for example. Taking a subway or riding with others for long periods of time are anxiety-causing issues, and I think it stems from my being a Type A personality. The problem is that I think about my travels, plans, schedules, etc., almost automatically, and I live through the embarrassment of having these immediate reactions that start with stress, waves of stress, onto the gas and, finally, "I gotta go NOW." I just don't want it to cause me to start retreating from opportunities, going out with friends, etc., because I'm afraid of being stuck somewhere without a bathroom close by.Can anyone identify and offer suggestions, perhaps? Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
139 Posts
See my post below. I feel exactly the same way. If I am in a store where there is no obvious public restroom, I panic and my stomach instantly reacts. If I am in a car with someone else, I panic because if I were driving alone I could always plan what to do or where to go.I am afraid to go on road trips, and Heaven forbid I should be stuck in a traffic jam.It's been getting worse lately, and I just hate it. I am also extremely Type A, and worried about controling just about everything.

·
Registered
222 Posts