Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this subject has probably been discussed already, no doubt many times. But I've been away from the BB for over a year, if not longer (due to not having a computer for a long time), but I was curious how everyone deals with their IBS when it flares up at work? Like, do you let your co-workers know that you have IBS? And your boss....do you tell them, or don't you?I'm pretty lucky since I have the kind of job where I can just get up and leave anytime I need to, and there are several bathrooms I can choose from (I work in a hospital). I've learned from past experience that sometimes the less said about any medical "problems", the better. Altho one of my co-workers has IBS too and I told her that I have it as well. Still, I find myself "sneaking" out of the department if I have a flare up at work, and I try not to let people know I'm not feeling well.

·
Registered
122 Posts
HI THERE PONY GIRL.THE ONLY PERSON I TELL IS MY MANAGER. IF I HAVE TO GO AND MY COWORKERS ASK ME MY WHEREABOUTS, I JUST TELL THEM I DRANK TOO MUCH WATER, OR I USE PMS AS AN EXCUSE...BUT NEVERTHELESS, I DONT EVER TELL THEM ABOUT MY IBS. YOURE RIGHT...THE LESS THEY KNOW, THE BETTER.IT SAVES ME TIME AND GRIEF FROM PEOPLE TRYING TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE AND BE SYMPATHETIC.

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, sometimes the less said the better. Some co-workers may be nice about it, but you never know when they might not be nice either....so, I'm with you on that one!I usually just tell them that I drank too much pop, or water, or something. Or, that I ate something that just didn't agree with me.

·
Registered
175 Posts