Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need quite a bit of dental work done which will be done over several visits.I am not good at being closed in as in the dentist chair, and worry if I will need to rush to the toilet ! I have IBS A and worry that the stress will make me "overactive" again. Does anyone else have this problem ?Thanks

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
It usually is my bladder that gets nervous in the dentist chair, not my bowel.The dentist knows this and anytime I give the signal I'm allowed to get up and make a quick bathroom trip.It helps to eat a safer diet (if you have one) for a day or two ahead of time and if you are really worried take a low dose of Imodium or an antispasmodic to help keep things calm for the duration.

·
Registered
414 Posts
I went through a time where I had to have loads of dental problems and I didn't tell my dentist for years that I had ibs diarrhea and made worse by my total panic about the dentist as well. I used to worry so so mcuh about being stuck in the chair and not being able to escape but I finally told him and it made such a huge difference. If I'm late for my appointment, or in the toilet when he calls my name he's really cool about it all. I wish I had told everyone about this sooner as hiding it only made things worse for me and a lot of the stress instantly went. So I would definitely advise you to tell them about your problem no matter how embarrassing it is because it only takes a few minutes but helps a huge amount.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Yes, I do the same thing all the time. If it's a dentist appointmet or a doctors appointment I sit and worry myself silly about what might happen to the point to where I have actually cancelled or talked myself right out of going. I don't like being like this and it's terrible to be.

·
Registered
517 Posts