Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am a brand new member of this support group. I registered because I have know one to talk to and share my thoughts with regarding IBS, who I know would understand. Not my family, nor my friends understands the day to day stuggles we are going through.I have been struggeling with IBS and depression for more or less 10 years now. I don't know want came firs, the depression and anxiety or the IBS. I don't know if I am depressed because of the day to day stuggle with IBS or do I stuggle with IBS because of depression and anxiety............?!I am currently on anti depressants, but it doesn't seems to work. It has gotten so bad, that I am unable to opperate from day to day. I am so down and tyred and can't seem to handle anything anymore. Not my work or my social life. Does anyone else have the same feelings, or stuggled with this in the past? How did you manage to get out of this sycle of depression and IBS.Please let me know, I would appreciate it a lot.Thanxps: I am a 32 year old female from South-Africa with my own business.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
Depression and anxiety are common from any chronic illness, so it certainly can happen from IBS.Are you getting any therapy? A lot of people need both medication and therapy to recover from depression. And it may not be the right medication, when was the last time you talked to the doctor and do they know you aren't doing well?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·