Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i am also suffering from ibs-d. i have made a lot of lifestyle changes , as in quitting smoking... eating better and healthier.. i am having less flare-ups but not as less as i would like . i get sooooooo crampy and then a few hours later it is like nothing happened... its wierd the way it flares up , i have a lot of stress in my life also ... i am a cna also and i worry about missing so much work..... dr told me to increase my fiber which i will do .... hope it helps... any tips or pointers on how to manage ibs-d would be appreciated..... this is my first time in this forum... thanks for your reply

·
Registered
6,019 Posts
I can tell you that smoking caused my GI problems, along with cardio difficulties. Congratulations on quitting. How long did you smoke? The reason I ask is because there are strong linkages between smoking, damage to the lining of the vascular system, and "patching" from cholesterol laden plaque. The longer you smoked, the more likely that will have happened. Plaque deposits will then alter blood platelet behavior--which gets exacerbated from adrenaline released during periods of stress--which increases those deposits. It turns out that there is a similar behavior of the blood platelets in the colon (this was discovered by the London Hospital some years ago) which leads to inflammation.Almost 12 years ago I began taking a supplement designed to control that platelet motion and it stopped my indigestion and a developing case of reflux within a couple of months, stopped my D in about a year, and helped lower my heart attack risk from 50% (in 10 years) to 2%, where it currently sits. If you are a meat/dairy eater with a history of smoking and IBS-D, I really think this is a path worth following. Mark

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·