Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi there - I'm new here and have been dealing with some weird symptoms for the past 6 weeks. I've seen a few different doctors and had various tests done, and the general trend is thinking it's some form of IBS. I'm not entirely convinced, but I'm also not a doctor nor do I have experience with this - you all aren't doctors, but certainly have the experience, so I wanted to throw out my weird symptoms and see if people think "yeah, that does sound right" or "no, that doesn't seem IBS". Any input and thoughts are appreciated!

I'm 44M. So this started about 6 weeks ago where I started having some minor abdominal discomfort but nonspecific. It almost felt like core workout that went too far. Over the course of a week, I started getting swelling in the belly area, with slightly increasing discomfort, but nothing that affected my daily activities. Up to this point, I had noticed no particular GI-related issues.

I then had some heart palpitations and started freaking out. Went to ER, got blood/urine work done and CT scan. Everything seemed fairly normal - nothing showed in CT, and just some mild things in blood/urine that no one seemed concerned with (I showed these to 4 different docs). Also had EKG for heart - ultimately, the thought there was anxiety/panic and really, the heart symptoms have largely disappeared. I have a cardiologist appointment scheduled but no one seems concerned there.