Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a junior and its the year we start looking at colleges so this has been on my mind for a long time and i just want some responses. I have lots of gas and I'm afraid of stinking up my dorm room and grossing out my roomate. My stomache also gurgles and moans when I'm gassy and I don't want my roomate thinking I'm even weirder. In th mornings I spend a lot of time on the toilet and i feel fine doing this because its in my own private bathroom but at college one often has to share a bathroom with other people on the same floor. This is making me really nervous and anxious for college a time that is supposed to be fun. How have others coped with these difficulties?

·
Registered
25 Posts
I'm in my second year of college, I lived in a dorm last year with a hall bathroom. You can always try living in a single, or trying to get a room that has a bathroom in it. But really everyone goes to the bathroom, and while it is uncomfortable going sometimes when other people are in there too, you get used to it. And there are times when the bathroom is usually empty, which is the best time to use it. On my floor one of the girls put up a "do not disturb" sign on the bathroom door that you could use when you wanted some privacy. It worked for us because it was a small dorm and there wasn't a lot of people on my hall, but it might not work in every dorm. As far as the roommate thing just tell them that you do have a condition, and try explaining certain things about it. My dorm this year is a suite and luckily its only two of us sharing the bathroom so it makes it easier, but I told my roommate and she actually knows other people who have ibs so she's been supportive and its not a big deal. And last year I told some of my friends on the hall that I had a stomach condition so that it wouldn't be weird that I was in the bathroom a lot. I hope this hel