Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I starting dieting on Dr Atkins low carbohydrate diet and realized my diarrhea worsened when I began the diet. I now depend on medication to get me through the day as oppossed to before. Is it possible that the new diet I began triggered it? It is a possibility that ran through my mind when I backslided but don't really know for sure. What do you think?

·
Registered
605 Posts
J--I'm not an expert but I do have problems with D and I have tried the Atkins diet. It wreaked havoc on my poor gut and I had to stop after two weeks. Perhaps I would have adjusted had I stuck with it longer, but I didn't. I think that the amount of fat involved in the diet is just too disagreeable to those of us with D. I know I'm at my very best when following a low fat diet, so it all makes sense the Atkins diet would bother me. What about you?

·
Registered
96 Posts