Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been battling anxiety and irritable bowel syndrome for 2 years now. After countless diagnostic tests, doctors have decided that my digestive problems (delayed stomach emptying at times, constipation, heartburn, indigestion, constant belching and stomach growling coming up my throat, abdominal pain) are due to anxiety. The thing is, my anxiety only started when my digestive pain started. I have been hospitalized 3 times for anxiety (the last one the result of a suicide attempt)and tried dozens of anxiety medicines only to have major side effects including more constipation, delayed stomach emptying and insomnia. I am currently taking Paxil (10 mg)in the morning and Pamelar (25 mg) at night. This is helping for my anxiety, but both medications have anticholernigenic properties which tends to make my pain worse. 25 mg of Pamelar still has me waking in the middle of the night, and if I go higher I get more abdominal pain and morning hangovers. I am just looking for some advice on how anyone has been able to manage the same sort of problem. I am so frustrated because no matter what I do to try to help myself this vicous circle of anxiety, pain, and side effects becomes even more complicated. I'm concerned more about my family than myself at this point. They have suffered enough.

·
Registered
678 Posts
Michelle,Yes it is a vicous cycle.