Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting on this site.Early last year I was experiencing heartburn. No over the counter medication worked. I was placed on Nexium for 2 months and that wasn't strong enough. I have been having problems with my digestion for 6 years. Instead of checking it out with a doctor, I just avoided my trigger foods. While I was having trouble with the heartburn, things just got progressively worse. I started bloating everytime I ate and had severe abdominal pains. I hardly had constipation and never had diarrhea. I was having a hard time walking, breathing, and sleeping. I even had to take sick leave from work. I went through 5 months of tests and everything came back negative. I was tested positive for lactose, fructose, whole wheat, sugar, preservative/additive intolerances, plus the heartburn. I found out that I am hypoglycemic as well. So, my diet was very limited by this point. I have cut out all of these trigger foods from my diet and it is going a bit better. I am not on any sort of medication. My gastro did prescribe bentylol a few months ago, it is a muscle relaxant. I took it and ended up in the hospital. All my muscles went lax. I was having dinner at a restaurant and I had to be pulled out by paramedics. I couldn't move and the muscles in my throat were constricted so I couldn't talk properly. (it was quite embarassing leaving a restaurant by a gurney) I feel very alone because I feel like no one understands my frustration. I feel like I have to repeat myself over and over again, and I am tired of doing so. I want to sleep again. I am sick and tired of being exhausted all the time, mentally and physically. I will be joining a yoga class soon, hopefully this will help. I have been reading books on this disorder and it has helped (The First Year of IBS...by Heather Van Vorous and Eating for IBS by the same author).