Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an almost-20-year-old female college student. I've never dated anyone, and I think a lot of it has to do with my IBS. I'm also a more introverted person, but I think a lot of my tendency to avoid guys stems from the fact that I would be much more embarrassed to have an IBS attack around them than I would if I were around my girlfriends. It's just so much harder to go somewhere with one other person. Even if it's a good friend, I usually have to talk myself out of the anxiety of wondering what will happen if I have to disappear into the bathroom for an hour and leave them sitting alone. And that's someone who knows what's going on--what about a guy I like (and therefore am nervous around) who knows nothing about it?Gah. I've seen a lot of reassuring posts on these forums about understanding husbands/wives and boyfriends/girlfriends, but I would appreciate advice on how to deal with things with someone who is not (yet) a longtime significant other. How do you handle a first date type situation? If someone asks you out to dinner, will they think it's weird if you suggest something else? What are some low-stress, non-eating-intensive things to do on dates that will be more comfortable for a person with IBS? Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
1 Posts