Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have for many years had panic attacks when I would have to ride as a passenger in cars, bus's, anything primarily I was not in control of. This was not a good thing because I was a Ford Tech and subjected to this often riding with customers....I still can not ride with anyone else driving....riding in cabs or bus's is out...Never contemplated riding on an airplane...both for fear of flying and riding....Anyone else suffer from this? I've taken anti-depressants and anti-anxiety medication for years....Im also an IBS sufferer which is part if not all of the problem....

·
Registered
74 Posts
Hi,I think a lot of people here could relate, including me. I find it difficult to be a passenger and not be in control. For me, I think it's the fear that I might get sick or need a bathroom or something. I want to be able to leave a place when I want to, or make a stop if I need to. I haven't been on a plane for years - that's a really tough one for me because I know that I can't go anywhere and "get away" if I need to - I'm "trapped" on the plane with all those people. I'm afraid I have no good advice, except to try being a passenger as often as you can. I think the longer you go WITHOUT being a passenger, the more difficut it will become. I know that's definitely how it was with me and the airplane thing. I used to fly every once in a while, so I wasn't really afraid of it, but now that it's been so long, I'm terrified of it.Good luck!

·
Registered
110 Posts
I totally agree. I always want to take my onw car or be the driver. I think it is a combination of anxieties that have gotten me this way. The only person I don't mind riding with is my Mother. I had to ride downtown with her (with my evil stepfather driving) and as soon as we got out of the car I started throwing up with a terrible headache and instant D attack.

·
Registered
90 Posts