Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some help.. I'm currently looking for my first part time job. What are some good options to be looking at? I've noticed there are many fast food places around my area hiring, but I can't see that as being the type of job to let me use the bathroom whenever I need to. That's a big thing for me, is the availability to use the bathroom at any time... Most of the time, knowing that I CAN means that I'm calm and won't need to. But if I get stuck in some job where I can't use the bathroom at any time, I know I'll panic and need to use the bathroom.. So what kind of part time jobs are there that would be willing to work with me on this? I have no prior work experience, so it's hard enough finding any kind of job as it is.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I understand were your coming from, i recently got my first full time job, and worrying with all the things that go with that as well as looking for ways to handle my ibs on a day to day basis was difficult.Your right, i find having access to a bathroom gives me piece of mind and reduces my stress hence reduces my symptoms. I think anything that requires you to be stuck at a counter or requires you to be on the "shop floor" may be tough. How about looking at general office work? i work in a quiet office and theres no pressure to stay at my desk. Plus i work in a close team and they know i have IBS, so are sympathetic and try and accommodate me. (plus looking in the future, its great to have some office experience under your belt whichever occupation you choose) Others may have other better suggestions, but thought i would throw my two cents in.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your reply!