Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie. I have IBS-C and last week I thought I wanted to kill myself (only an expression) because of the constant bloating and pain. I had not had a bowel movements in days and I was at my wits end. Then, thanks to some posts on this board I started a regimen that has made me pretty regular (bowel movement every other day), but now my gas has become lethal (smell). Please help me sort out what is causing the smelly gas. Here is the regimen:-Take Zelnorm twice a day (have been on it for 6 months)-Take benefiber twice a day in peppermint and fennel tea. ( both are suppose to calm the GI tract)-Take 400mg Magnisum & B6 100mg after meals-Watching what I eat. Am eating mostly soluable fiber.Last night I did have these frozen mini quiches (I know dairy is out of the question, but that was all there was in the fridge). I then followed it up with graham crackers which are suppose to be good for those with IBS. I have been reading that as long as you mix insoluable fiber with solubale fiber you GI tract will be O.K. Please advise ASAP.

·
Registered
10,398 Posts
quote:please help me sort out what is causing the smelly gas
Odoriferous gas generally consists of one or more of the following gases:dimethyl sulfidemethanthiolhydrogen sulfideAll of these gases are derived from the action of specific bacteria on undigested material containing sulfur. These include many protein-containing foods such as meat and eggs.
quote:I know dairy is out of the question
Why do you think that? It does happen to contain sulfur, though.

·
Registered
1,082 Posts