Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had IBS-D for around 15 yrs and I was told by my doctor the other day that I test positive for a bacteria called H pylori. The Doc stated that this could be causing my IBS-D so I am being treated for this. I'm just wondering if anyone has heard if H pylori has the same symptoms has IBS. I just don't want to build myself up by thinking this will cure it when it won't. I have searched the web and could not find anything supporting what the Doc has told me but on the other hand I'm not a doctor. Would love to hear anyone's comments on this.

·
Registered
154 Posts
I have no idea.. but I would love to know... I thought that H Pylori was in the stomach and caused more gastritis symptoms than anything else... but it would be great to hear from others on this topic!

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
I can't find anything that suggests H.p. causes IBS-D.But with the newer SIBO information out maybe he thinks it does as antibiotics may be working on things other than the H.p. in the stomach.I can't find diarrhea as a symptom of H.p infection at least not readily.K.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
You've run though all the antidiarrheals, antidepressants, and Lotronox (if female) and all the antispasmodics and none of them do anything.Calcium doesn't work?? Questran have you tried that??There are lots of treatments. I do not know that it has to be this or nothing
K.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·