Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,I'm fairly new to this type of severe IBS-D and I'm having a really hard time coping...I'm fine for a few days and then BAM! I get hit with an attack where I can lose as much as 3 pounds in 30 minutes. It makes it hard to leave the house and to care for my 9 month old son. I've been told that I have Fibromyalgia as well but the Doctors around here are useless. I've lost 75 pounds in 9 months and all my Doctor can think about is shopping for new clothes for a new skinnier me! Apparently all the tests have been done but she didn't recommend a colonoscopy because I'm only 27.So what do I do? How do I get my life back so I can enjoy my son and enjoy living...and dare I say eating...again? Food has become poison to me and any amount of stress is bad news as well. I imagine it's kinda like being crippled.I'm sorry to vent on and on here but I have no other outlets here. Doctors politely smile and write out perscriptions that make me sicker....then they say just to drink Ginger Ale when I'm having an "off" day! I don't think they realize how much pain is involved, mentally and physically.Anyways any helpful tips are appreciated and thanks for listening!Ginger

·
Registered
53 Posts
i understand what you are saying i have only suffered with this for about four months and the doc even then said you could have irritable bowel. i feel like i'm stuck in a hole with no way out, no one seems to understand how i feel and that is really frustrating. I have an 22 month old son and end up putting on a brave face to take him out and when i'm around others. i don't like staying in and have to ignore how i feel jusst to get to work and out. i am going to make another apponitment for docs but am optomistic about the outcome.hope you fell better soon.Claire (Fairy)

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·