Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last year I was diagnosed with IBS after ruling out Coeliacs disease using a blood test (my mother sufferes from coeliacs). I was left to it and given peppermint oil to ease things which worked for a while. Ive gone back to my doctor today as the pain is becomming more frequent and its happening at inconvinient times such as at work (im a student paramedic) or when I was on holiday and therefore not stressed, but it totally ruined half a day of my 5 day mini break. I do work hard and wonder if its more down to stress when i get symptoms as Im at uni, on placement working both day and night shifts, have a part time job and I work on summer camps for the majority of my summers. My doctor today sent me off with Colofac/mebeverine hydrochloride and said to try eliminating things from my diet by going back to rice and veg and then increasingly adding extra foods. This is all she said, I got the feeling she didnt care and too much as it was saturday and she was at work. I have come home to check out what to do with this diet and all details I can find online sugggest I should have been sent to a dietician to do this and not just left to it. I am wondering now what to do, I dont feel happy just eliminating everything from my diet except rice and veg (partly as Im not a huge rice fan, im willing to try it but I dont like the texture). Its also made so much harder by my placement as I eat at ridiculous times, for example this week I start work at 6.30 finish at 18.30 and could get my break of 45mins anytime after 10.30 however it could be 3 by the time breaktime is announced. Im confused as to what to do and contemplating going back and requesting specifically to see the doctor who diagnosed me, as he was far more sympathetic and didnt just dismiss everything. Im particularly fed up as I have a foot injury which Ive been suffering with for nearl