Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm a 20-year-old college student who was diagnosed back in early September with pityriasis rosea. What I showed to my dermatologist was mild in nature, but has now spread to my breasts, abdomen, underarms, lower back, upper thighs, back of knees, hands, arms and back of my neck. I probably have some "down there" but I don't even look. I just look unsightly. I think I'm sprouting a few on my forehead.I take Benadryl and Allegra to help with the itching. I use Aveeno bath moisturizer and just lierally stand in the shower because I'm afraid of rubbing. The health pages say this only concentrates in the torso, yet I have practically have it all over my body! My dermatologist and university health services have been unhelpful as well. They tell me to let it run its course. I can't even attend sororal/fraternal balls because I look like a mess. Does this leave hyperpigmentation because I have brown skin??The herald patch has always changed a lot since early September. It looks smooth in the middle and the edges look cracked and might peel. Sometimes, the herald patch itches! Wah! I have had this for nearly six weeks now. Has anyone suffered this????

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
I haven't had it. Sounds awful.It sounds like about all there is to do is ride it out, and it should go away on it's own in the next few weeks.One site talked about pigmentaiton issues for some people, but I didn't get a frequency.A couple of sites mentioned using UV light to treat, but that isn't something you should do on your own (you want to watch for sunburn and stuff so you need the right dose of that so don't just go to the tanning booth on your own.).Hopefully it will all be over soon.K.

·
Registered
54 Posts