Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a 20 year old female who's had chronic tension headache and IBS (I'm not sure if it's IBS-A or IBS-C) for the last 8 months. I starting having these two symptoms about a month after I started to recover from a restrictive eating disorder/overexercise that resulted in severe weight loss (I'd lost 23 pounds in about 1.5 months). Since IBS/Chronic Tension Headache I have been having EXTREME trouble knowing when I'm hungry... It sounds ridiculous, I know... I'm always bloated and never feel hungry in the stomach, so I have to take cues from when my headache becomes especially painful to know that that's when I am hungry or not getting enough sugar to the brain. Due to this, I have lost and gained back 30 pounds FOUR more times since the eating disorder, all in 2009. I'm getting completely sick of this... I'm a nutrition expert now due to so much research and would really like to just get on with a healthy lifestyle that includes both exercise and eating whole foods (both of which I have a passion for), but not knowing that I'm hungry (or even properly full, for that matter) really frustrates me because I can't eat according to whenever my body cues it's time for me to eat. I've tried having regular snack/meal every 2-3 hours but it always ends up somehow that I eat way too much when I do that because I keep eating the snack until I can't eat anymore (I'd kept a food diary for about a week, earlier this month). I can't eat 3 big meals a day because by the time I start to eat and my body "realizes" that it is hungry and I go nuts eating everything in sight. Ugh!I was wondering if anyone else has a very difficult time knowing when they're hungry? I really don't want to keep gaining weight because of this (or losing weight for that matter) because "I look fat" thoughts are what triggered my eating disorder in the first place (which trigger