Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have IBS-D and possibly some form of IBD also. I've been eating 3,000-4,000 calories a day for about 8 months. I work out four days a week (weightlifting) and have a very physical job. I eat very healthy: high protein, high carbs, low fat, low sugar, no alcohol, and I don't smoke or drink coffee. I basically live on chicken breast, tuna, protein shakes, rice, veggies, etc, and about the most interesting thing I ever have is Subway, plain as can be: low fat with only meat, cheese, bread. I'm sure I need more calories than average just because I am very active, but can't tell if I'm able to absorb all my nutrients propperly and if I ate a normal diet of 2,000 calories would I not be able to maintain my weight? I really don't understand how I am not losing extreme amounts of weight (which I DO NOT want to do) by running to the bathroom up to 10 times a day at my worst! It's on average like 5-6 times/day. And I try to drink a fair amount of plain water to replenish what I'm losing.So how many calories is everybody out there getting? I know some people lose weight because they are not able to eat, but can absorb nutrients. And how much protein are IBS-D people getting? I'm getting 200+ grams of protein a day for lifting, I'm addicted to the gym and it's really the only thing I enjoy doing and don't feel sick when doing it. By the way I'm 5'7" 175lbs, female, and it is very important to me that I maintain my weight. It took me a long time to reach that goal so I don't want to backtrack on my progress.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts