Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've just started taking the antispasmodic hyoscyamine (it's been 1 week) and it seems to be helping with the pain to a certain degree. However, I'm noticing that even though it is prescribed to be taken every 6 hrs, I feel the pain coming back in about 5. Has anyone else experienced this? Do you think it's ok to take it every 5 (or 4.5) hours instead?Also, I've noticed that if I don't get up to take it in the middle of the night - on the regular 5-6 hour schedule, I wake up with pain in the morning that takes several hours to subside (even after taking a pill). Does this sound familiar?Thank-you in advance for your thoughts. I've had IBS for 6 years now, but I've only ever treated it with OTC medications, so I'm new to these types of prescriptions.~Amber

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
I would think that would be OK, because one of the other ways it is prescribed is 30 minutes before each meal, and meals are generally less than 6 hours apart, with the last dose taken at bedtime.K.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I have used Hyoscyamine SL (sub-lingual) with excellent results for pain as well as stopping an episode of diarrhea that occurs when I am out to dinner, the movies, etc. I can often tell when an episode is about to occur and popping just 2-3 of these SL tablets often stops the episode after only 1 or 2 bm's. This is as opposed to 2-3 hours in the bathroom! It also helps with the cramps and pain. I've taken as many as 3 or 4 with the only side effects being dry mouth. I am not sure about the oral dosage but check with your doctor. You may be able to use it a little more often. I think you have to be really careful with this med and Bentyl in hot weather. It does something to the sweating response and you can get very sick. It is important to stay well hydrated.

·
Registered
85 Posts