Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well my name is Manda, on the third day of my freshman year I started to have really bad gas problems and constantly passed gas. I didn't tell anyone because it is really embarrassing.
I stopped drinking milk, eating potatoes, chips, junk food, etc. I drank a lot of water, ate fruits, and some vegetables but still had my gas problem. I even got in better physical shape, I now play lacrosse and run a lot and I still have gas.
There were days when I didn't eat and didn't have things the day before that would have caused the gas, and I still have gas. I have been sitting on my sweater for the past 3-4 years. Its awful, people always wonder why I sit on it, and I know they know why. I especially get gaseous when I'm nervous and have to do presentations and things like that. I go to the bathroom at least 3 times a day, most of the time I'm constipated and get pain, but the pain only occurs when I haven't got to use the bathroom or my constipation goes on for a couple of days. My mom doesn't like taking me to the doctor and the doctor I have is a complete idiot. Is their medication for what I have? Do I even have IBS?
Beano helps, but only on some occasions, its expensive and I dont like taking all those tablets all day long. I was perfectly fine up until Freshman year, and as many people I just want my old life back again.
Please help...

·
Registered
4 Posts
I know how you feel about the idiot doctor. To really know for sure if you have ibs you need to have a series of test to rule everything else out. For me it was blood work, urine sample, stool sample, x-ray, ultra sound, barium catscan, and a colonoscopy. And they found nothing and said hey you have ibs. If I were you I'd look at a list of symptoms and see if you have anymore of them. I feel for ya

·
Registered
34,955 Posts