Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello People,I know this sounds awful but it nice to see so many people with IBS, I thought I was alone with this condition and did start to feel like a bit of a freak. What a relief to find people with the same problem. Im new to this so I apologise in advance for rambling but I just don’t know what to do.I have had IBS for 9 years now, where in the past it has been manageable it is really now starting to have an adverse effect on my life. Im late for work every day without fail, im having to give up hobbies for fear of needing the toilet whilst partaking, my confidence is slowly being eroded, I even avoid trips out with my family for fear of needing the toilet when there isn’t one close by. My worst ordeal is the drive to work in the morning, its only 13 miles from where I live and I find myself rushing for the services almost every morning to use the toilet.In the past I have tried colpermin, colofac, mebeverine, rescue remedy, even seroxat which I had to stop taking. All seemed to make a slight difference but no cure. I take j collis brownes every day which has been my saviour but now this is starting to fail. I have also been to a naturopath that has put me on a diet and supliments however I still have yet to see an improvement. It is the worst its ever been to the point where I just cant cope with it anymore.The symptoms always occur at their worst in the morning. Ill get up and go to the toilet a few times then start to make my way to work. The minute I get in the car my stomach starts to feel cramped. Occasionally that’s all it is but the majority of the time its followed normally by an inconvenient urge to use the toilet which normally results in a rush to the nearest supermarket or services to use the bathroom. After the morning ordeal im normally ok then for the rest of the day. I guess it is the stress of the drive to wor