Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm a newbie to the forum, but found it whilst deperately searching for answers on google.I've had IBD for more than 10 years, and had it quite well under control with a small daily dose of immoduim, prescribed by my doctor.However I am currently 10 weeks pregnant, with my first child. It has been a very turbulent and emotional couple of weeks since we found out, it was not a planned pregnancy, and at 36 years of age and with my Fiance for 15 years, we never thought we'd have children. I am getting over the shock a bit now, and am looking forward to the birth of my child.I've also been treated in the past for minor anxiety, and have panic attacks, which thankfully I have managed to control, most of the time, I totally agree with everything I read on the Panic attacks/IBS thread.I have been told I should not take my immodium whilst pregnant, so have found all my diaorrhea attacks coming back, they are not constant, but it is the random nature I find upsetting, couple this with lots of appointments etc and I'm having a nightmare.Does anyone have any ideas of natural remedies, or medicines that would help...I don't intend to take it every day, just on occasions when I need to go to appointments and scans etc.. MY GP and my midwife were rather unsympathetic about the whole thing, and more or less told me to just put up with it....but next April is a long time to be having these attacks.I find usually I have to steer clear of fruit, and too much fibre actually makes things worse.

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
Will they let you take Calcium Supplements?A lot of people find Calcium Carbonate with Vitamin D supplements help control the diarrhea, but that is more an every day (one with each meal 300-600 mgs) rather than pop it just for an appointment.

·
Registered
312 Posts