Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I've posted here once before and received a lot of support but my symptoms have recently changed quite a bit.

So history: I have anxiety and my IBS is obviously anxiety related without a doubt, but it also seems to happen when I do not have anxiety. I have seen my GP and a gastroenterologist (though I'm considering asking for a referral to a different one). The GI doc had me taking a probiotic (which I still do) and then wanted me to take restoralax everyday??? But I have alternating IBS symptoms so I didn't think this made any sense - please correct me if I am wrong, but my GP also agreed and said I should only take that if I feel I need it (i.e.: constipation phases). She also had me taking metamucil - but it made me stomach VERY upset the first time I took it and I've been scared to take it again.

I am a nursing student (second-entry, I already have a degree in History/Psychology) and my symptoms always seem to strike the worst on school days (just regular ones where I am NOT anxious). I have been prescribed lorazepam PRN for when I write exams because then my symptoms just go wild - totally anxiety related. I have yet to take it as it was just prescribed after I finished my last round of exams (I could not take it anymore) so I will be trying it this semester (before my exam once but I'm trying to find a comparable situation of anxiety to make sure it works properly).