Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am 21 years old and had recently been to the doctors and found I have IBS. He put me on a high fiber diet and it has been a couple weeks and I really don't feel that big of a difference in the way of how I am feeling. The biggest problem that I have and concerned about is that when I am in school sitting in class for two hours straight, I get gas pains and spasms. It is very uncomfortable and annoying because my stomach then starts to get noisy as well. I am always usually nervous at school especially whith test taking, but it is getting hard for me to concentrate in school. I am kind of new to all this. What should I do to help with that? Any suggestions?

·
Registered
23,983 Posts
Welcome Dana, what you posting is pretty coomon for IBSers."Why some people feel the burden of stress in their gutâ€"and not for instance, in their heartâ€"can also be explained by the close communication between the brain and the gut. When the big brain consciously perceives a stressful situation, it calls on its fraternal twin through specialized cellsâ€"called mast cellsâ€"embedded in the gut's lining. These mast cells secrete a chemical called histamine, which activates the nerves controlling the gut, telling the muscles to contract. Hence, the cramps and bathroom trips so often associated with bouts of stress. "http://faculty.frostburg.edu/psyc/bristow/386/newarticle.htmThere are also other cells in the gut that release serotonin called enterochromaffin cells, which is a problem in IBS.http://ibsgroup.org/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/71210261/m/369100861

·
Registered
4,570 Posts
Hi Dana and Welcome!