Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to this particular BB although I recognise a few names from other BB's.I have read a few postings and, so far, the majority are IBS - D. I have had bloating, distention, trapped wind,lower back pain, cramping and constipation since I was a teenager (now 38) but my symptoms were not diagnosed until last year, probably due to the fact that my symptoms becames worse when I stopped smoking and I went to a GP about it. I have had all the regular tests, tried the high fibre and gallons of water, tried pure olive oil (straight on an empty stomach, fibogel, saline laxatives, lactulose, laxyberyl etc - all without success and I finally resort to using a glycerine suppository which works quite quickly. Without these I would probably keep growing (my weight has also increased quite rapidly).I am going to start on the Atkins Diet this weekend but would appreciate constructive feed back. Also, I have heard mention that calcium citrate can help. Is this true?(I thought calcium caused C) and, if so, is it available in the UK under a specific Brand Name?I look forward to any help you can give. I have to say that these BB's are the only thing I look forward to every morning. I spend more time here than at work! It is a constant source of support.------------------SD

·
Registered
3,146 Posts
Hi Diggin.Welcome to the board. I am a "C" type also. I use a fiber/senna combination called Perdiem, which helps, but not entirely. Some days are better than others. We have a search feature on this board at the top of the page. If you click on the search button and type in "constipation", you will find lots of information. Good Luck.------------------"Remember To Stop and Smell the Roses"Rose (C-type)

·
Registered
1,781 Posts
Calcium does cause C - I use magnesium supplements.Ty

·
Registered
33 Posts