Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm an IBS-D veteran of nearly 25 years now. While I like to think that I handle all of the D issues and my life fairly well by now, I've got an issue now that's weighing on me a little. I've been advised that I need to fly for business. Only a "short" flight, about two hours, but still something that I'm dreading. I've only flown once before and while I didn't have any major IBS issues in the air, I did get to sample the bathrooms in North Carolina, Connecticut, and Rhode Island. The RI bathrooms were by far the best. My GI issued me some Bentyl and stated to only use it when absolutely necessary as it's effectiveness will decline with use. I've tried it once, and it knocked me out, I slept very well! The next day was very good though. The gut was very quiet and I didn't visit the bathroom once! The day after was good also. I'm not sure if I can use it in advance to get things "normalized" for the trip or what to do. I'm thinking if I need it on the trip, it'll knock me out and I may end up in Thailand or somewhere. Any thoughts on travel/air tips? I take calcium and loads of fiber everyday. But the IBS attacks are 100% unpredictable. I can deal with the D real well, but the urgency I can't deal with. People just can't identify with having to find a bathroom in a minute! No kidding! Luckily, I've only had two accidents in my time.Well, guess that's my rant, any thoughts?Thanks.......

· Registered
457 Posts
quote:My GI issued me some Bentyl and stated to only use it when absolutely necessary as it's effectiveness will decline with use.