Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
So this is my first time posting on any kind of forum and I've had IBS for 9 years. I'm 20 years old. When the symptoms first started I didn't have a BM for weeks at a time, now it never stops. I go 4-5 every morning when I wake and then I have cramps/bloating/gas all day. Some days I barely get food to my mouth when I can't seem to get to the bathroom fast enough.I was seeing a gastro until I lost my health insurance. I had to drop out of school and quit my full time job because my symptoms were out of control. I take up to 6 imodium a day to try and control the symptoms. I hate going out, because I never know what to eat or if my stomach is going to get upset.To top it all off, dating sucks ! I hate having to cancel plans with someone because my stomach decided for me. I was prescribed bentyl like 4 years ago, it works sometimes. Never when I need it too. I just want to be a normal 20 yr old girl. I want to go out with my friends and have a good time. Not going out with my friends and planning my night based on where the closest bathroom is, just in case.I need some advice. I don't remember the last time I've left the house.

·
Registered
14,427 Posts
WelcomeJust so you know Bentyl is an antispasmodic med.. not an anti diarreal. So it may help with cramping... but it may not stop D.Have you ever tried using Calcium Carbonate supplements? Many folks find they firm up loose BM's. See "Linda's Calcium" thread thumbtacked to the top of this forum. Some other folks find that bile salt binders can firm up their D as well. The brand names of those in the US are Questran (powder form) or Cloestid (pill/tablet form). This med is by prescription only but it may be worth asking your Dr about it.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·