Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For several months I have been suffering abdominal cramps when my food is getting digested. I have always been pretty tolerant of pain but this is just too much. Sometimes, the only comfort I find after eating is to lat naked on the bathroom floor because the coldness soothes the pain a bit. I had a colonoscopy done and it came back clean. I feel like this diagnose is given to people when the doctor just doesn't know what it is. When the colonoscopy came back clean, I just cried. I would have preferred anything else, at least we would know and could treat it. But this is just awful! I'm on Phenobarb and hyoscyamine for the pain and a very healthy diet. The truth is, even healthy food needs to be digested and I CANNOT go through that. The pain meds are useless. I am a teacher and am seriosly considering taking a leave of absence. My students are suffering from all of my absences due to either uncontrollable pain or doctor's appointments. I am so frustrated and desperate for pain relief. I used Percocets that were prescibed to me a year ago after a tubal ligation. I only used two then and had several left. I have to be honest and tell you that it works! The pain is gone and the frequent runs to the bathroom have stopped. My concern now is that I am running out and my GI doctor will not prescribe them but won't give me anything that works either. If anyone knws a GI doctor who would prescribe them for me in Connecticut, please contact me. I can assure you that I am not an addict, just a woman in extreme pain.

·
Registered
311 Posts