Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Not likely...With the number of potential claimants, it would bankrupt any economy.
Oh, come on. IBS/Crohn's/UC/etc. affects us all differently and depending on how debilitating it is, your case will probably be looked into in its own right. I don't know how allowance for disabilities works in Australia, but apply anyway and if unsuccessful I'm sure they'll have an appeals procedure. Can't hurt to try, right?

·
Registered
94 Posts
I'm in the uk but I've been claiming the equivalent of disability pay for the past 8 months. If you are physically incapable of working then I don't see how they can refuse? I desperately tried to carry on working for as long as I could, but in the end I had to resign from my job because otherwise they were going to sack me for having so much time off. I was literally off work every other week and my condition has become even worse since, so it's a good job I left when I did. My advice is to ask your doctor if he would support your claim? If you have an understanding doctor who realises how severe your symptoms are I'm sure he/she will help you.

·
Registered
2 Posts