Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is any serious bowel condition, such as cancer, rare for somebody under the age of 30 ? I have IBS, apparently according to my doctor (2 doctors, since I sought a second opinion), yet I am still extremely anxious and worried about it possibly being something more serious. I had a telescopic examination 3 years ago after I had some blood on the surface of my stool, and the examination showed that I had internal piles. I am aware that any reoccurrence of the piles may be a reason for an occasional amount of blood on the surface of a stool. Am I right to be extremely worried to the point where I am having difficulty thinking about anything else, or is the fact I am under 30 with a history of piles, and an examination not THAT long ago a reason to be reassured that what my GP calls IBS is really IBS.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Togs,I am not a doctor (though sometimes feel I must have consulted half the doctors in London over my IBS and associated aches & pains!!) but offer the following:Yes, I believe cancer or serious bowel condition IS uncommon (though not impossible)in those under 30. If your symptoms(you don't say what actual IBS symptoms you are experiencing) are the same as they were when you had your initial examination, that would suggest it is still IBS you are experiencing.If blood on stools is bright red this is suggestive of the problem being piles - the darker the colour of the blood, the more serious it may be.IBS is linked to stress/anxiety. Your worries may be originating from a state of stress and finding a focus in your symptoms, which then, unfortunately, sets up a vicious circle.If you are really concerned and want to be absolutely sure, speak to your GP about another colonoscopy to settle the matter once and for all. He may still be reluctant - they see a lot of people with similar symptoms, me included, and I was over 35