Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
would fast transit time from mouth to toilet be considered a symptom of IBS? that it something I have always seemed to have, and I wondered if that could account for having skinny stools because it has no time to gain any bulk, sometimes it goes through me in like 7 hours. Also Is it normal when you have Ibs to have minor pains in your left side even when you dont have to go to the bathroom? I'm new at this and just needed some answers, thanks...

·
Registered
34,955 Posts
Generally if you tend to diarrhea the transit time tends to be faster than normal. But that is true of all diarrhea so you can't use that to prove IBS vs any other cause of diarrhea.Being on the diarrhea side of normal (even if just a bit too soft or a bit too loose) can cause the stools to be thin.Pain with IBS can occur at any time. It doesn't have to be just right before a BM.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oh okay, thank you, mine are usually on the looser side, and I have never been constipated in my life so I would definitely be on the D side, its weird I have always had what I thought was just a sensitive stomach with things like just getting d out of no where but it was never like for days at a time so I never thought about it, but then I started getting really stressed and worked a midnight job and then it just started... its been going on for like 6 months now, and its gotten better, you would think if it was something other than Ibs I would know by now right?

·
Registered
34,955 Posts