Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
w to the t to the f! im confused...i dont know which one to take. the doctor prescribed levsin and xanax since a few of my d episodes are caused by riding the subway about 2 hours each day and not knowing where the next restroom will be. stress is a trigger for me so thats why she gave me xanax. anyways....i dont want to have to take either of these on a daily basis. i know i can take imodium daily but whats the difference between that and the levsin?? im limiting my xanax doses to the weekends when i go into the city, parties or weddings where im outside of my comfort zone..recap..levsin and imodium both slow the gut right??

·
Registered
1 Posts
I jsut got levsin prescribed. (I am new to IBS.) I got the levsin tabs that you put under your tongue. My understanding is that they are fast into your system and fast out of your system....Levsin is an antispasmodic. It can cause constipation, but it's main use is to stop bowel or bladder spasms.Immodium is for diarrea--I don't know if it contains any antispasmodics or not.I have tried immodium in the past and it has not really made a difference in my spasms. I have not tried the levsin yet--I just got it prescrived recently.I hope this helpsJenny

·
Registered
21 Posts
Librax works for my spasms. My daily routine is 2 immodium, 1 librax, and 1 xanax during the week. Travel to work gets me anxiety ridden, job too stressful. I try not to take any meds on weekends unless I have a function to attend. Levsin never worked for me. Librax seems to calm down my crazy spasms just fine. My primary physician recommends I stop all meds. Easier said than done. She want me to try a fiber like Metamucil. Not sure how that will work. Still have anxiety, so the fiber won't cure that. Good luck.

·
Registered
2 Posts