Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to a regular family doctor tommarow, I stoped going to my Gastro because just put me through so many tests and everyone had the same result. Everytime the test was over he said i probaly just have ibs but he still kept putting me threw new ones. But anyways, im going to the doctor tommarow to see if he can acutally put me on somthing to help me. Ive been takeing calcium for about 8 months now and it has helped a lot! but i still get cramps everyday and i get D when im nervous or if i eat somthing bad. Im 17 years old and cyber schooled because i cant go to regular school due to my ibs.Does anyone have success with lomotil? Is it common? and how much does it cost? I was doing research on motofen and that is expensive, so i figured id maybe try lomotil.please help me!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi brittany. Im really not sure what the cost is as my insurance pays all but 10.00. Sometimes if you ask the doctor he can give you samples, if he has some. Lomotil is pretty new to me, but it seems to be working well.I have been taking the calcium for a couple years, and it work great. Have you considered uping the dosage? Im sure you have probably read Lnapes calcium info, if not please do! I have found the same problem with gastro docs. Its just test, test test. I think ill give up on them. well, i wish you luck, please keep us posted!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, I take calcium three times dayly, i take it with breakfast, at noon, and then before bed time. My doctor told me not to take it more than three times a day because it can actually be bad to take too much calcium. I forgot to mention i also take a daily probiotic by digestive advantage, im not sure if its doing anything or not really. how often do you take lomotil? was it a regular doctor that prescribed it to you?

·
Registered
479 Posts