Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what kinds of part time jobs do you guys have while your going through high school/ college and how does it impact your ibs?

·
Registered
95 Posts
I was just recently a cashier for about a year and a half. When my IBS really started getting bad, I found myself having to come in late more and more often. I wouldnt suggest this as a job for people with IBS. Something with a little more flexibility such as paper work, or something like that would probably be a better choice I would think? Good luckAndrea

·
Registered
486 Posts
I'm a student and for 3 years I worked as a care assistant at different residential/nursing homes. The advantage to this job is there are toilets EVERYWHERE, plenty of air freshener, and so many people making bad smells no-one notices if u do as well. Also it's easy to slip away for half an hour. On the downside, the work is physically and emotionally draining, and I found my IBS got worse. This summer I'm working in an office, it's on the uni campus and I have a virtual map in my head of all the loos, which is reassuring. The thing is, I worry constantly about having a bad d attack. How can I say to my boss I have to 'disappear' to another building for a while? Also I daren't eat in case I get gas.Anyone have any tips for surviving summer jobs?

·
Registered
3,987 Posts
I've done bar work, retail, cleaning, call centre work, now i work in a gallery! I think I've done it all. I don't let the IBS stop me anymore.Don't be disheartened. You'll always find a way to cope.

·
Registered
486 Posts