Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I had been having trouble off and on for a few months. I've had intense stress in life, as I was a police officer fired for refusing to cover up illegal activities for my employer. Even though the firing was overturned, it still left me without a job, and with a questionable mark on my record. (Like I said, a lot of stress) So I began having gas after I eat. The gas would be a cross between burps and hiccups almost, hard to explain. I would also have bloating, and even my heart would skip a few beats. After research, I found that the heart thing could be also because gas gets trapped and creates pressure/pain in my chest. (This was scary though because even though I'm young, my family has heart conditions in the blood) In addition, I have been battling constipation. After an unrelated foot injury, I went to my doctor and told him about these symptoms. He told me he thinks I have IBS, and also hemorroids (Blood in stool for about two weeks) He prescribed Bentyl to me. Well, I read that Bentyl has some odd side effects, to I didn't want to take it. I did take it ONCE, and felt a bit dizzy and I haven't taken it again. I have been combatting the gas with OTC Gas X with mixed results, though mainly pretty good. I should also mention that to be frank, my diet SUCKS, and consists of frozen pizzas almost daily. Unluckily, though my wife i a vegatarian, I hate veggies, and I'm yet to warm my taste buds up to them. I guess my main question is, how do you guys deal with it? My doc thinks that once I'm on the job again my stress might go away and get rid of the symptoms a bit, but I'm not sure? Also, what should I do with my diet, I heard that dairy and cheese can worsen IBS, so maybe I should go to sandwhiches or something besides the cheesy freezer junk? Presently the Bentyl is collecting dust, while I use gas X, and a fiber supplement to fight the symptoms w