Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, everyone. I am 25. I've been having these symptoms for five years. Bloating, I look like I'm about to give birth, diarrea, constipation, I wake up in the middle of the night to puke if I eat too close to bed time. I've been drinking at least one bottle of malox a week for five years. Sometimes I also have heartburn. Today was the third time I have been to the doctor about this. Finally, he is going to do a sonogram on my stomach. He said looks like IBS. It didn't sound too bad. I was fearing something more like I'll have to have some of my intestines removed! It hurts so bad sometimes I can't stand up. So I came home to get on the net and read about it. Its so upsetting to find out if this is truly what it is I will have to live with it for the rest of my life. I wonder about the range of severity. I would think I would be at the really bad end of the scale. HOPE it can't get much worse. Just hoping to hear from a few people who know more about it. Thanks! Nickie

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
Nickie-I have had IBS for over 20 years and let me assure you that it doesnt always SUCK. It can be pretty depressing/distrsssing and a real drag BUT it does tend to wax and wane. This is a great place to come for support, information and comfort. Some of your symptoms sound like they could be acid/heartburn/GERD/upper GI type of problem. Glad you are seeing a dr about things
Hope this helps

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
Nickie-I have had IBS for over 20 years and let me assure you that it doesnt always SUCK. It can be pretty depressing/distrsssing and a real drag BUT it does tend to wax and wane. This is a great place to come for support, information and comfort. Some of your symptoms sound like they could be acid/heartburn/GERD/upper GI type of problem. Glad you are seeing a dr about things
Hope this helps

·
Registered
42 Posts