Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a female college student and have always been quite healthy, but a few months ago I started getting diarrhea and exessive gas. I would be in a lecture and suddenly there would be a slight fecal smell which would quickly go away, after this happened a few times I realised it was coming from me. It seemed like the gas was only in the morning though, as I would get it in morning classes but not in the afternoon. I thought it was a passing thing like a mild stomach bug or something, but then my symptoms got worse and I would only have diarrhea then an hour later be desperate to pass another BM, I also developed a strange taste in my mouth that seemed like the smell of my BM and gas, and I started to feel very weak and tired and nauseus and sporadically throwing up. I made an appointment to see my doctor and the night before took one antibiotic I had lying around (Amoxycillin), in the morning I passed another liquid BM but I think I passed a parasite. It came out like a long worm all tangled into a ball and suddenly just came out which made me check what it was and obviously I was mortified to see this whiteish wormlike thing in the toilet. I told my doctor about that and also my symptoms and that my aunt who had been to stay had been treated for Giardia just before she came and my symptoms started just as she left. The doctor gave me a 7 day 400mg 3x a day course of Metronidazole/Flagyl. This made me feel bad but after about 2 days my symptoms were alleviated. No more gas or diarrhea. I developed oral thrush after only a few days on the antibiotics as they were very strong. I treated my oral thrush successfully. After a few weeks of no symptoms my leaky farts have come back but seem to have a more fecal smell that is slightly different to the smell before. I also have a dry mouth and a bitter taste in my mouth which goes gross after eat