Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am newly diagnosed with IBS. I have general anxiety problems and my doctor prescribed me with Lexapro to subside the anxiety. Does anyone have experience with this? I'm terribly afraid of bad side effects and no results. Thanks...

·
Registered
194 Posts
I suggest you try it. I had good results with lexapro although I did have side effects and had to discontinue it. I almost would rather put up with the side effects because it really helped. I am IBS C&D. Also have some anxiety issues.Good Luck,Joyce

·
Registered
2 Posts
Same symptoms here. I tried Lexapro for a month, it was excellent, but I didn't want to be "hooked on a drug" so I stopped taking it. The symptoms (both anxiety & IBS) came back. Is there anything else I can do without taking medication? Why is IBS related to anxiety? I am very new to this whole thing and was just diagnosed with both 2 months ago. Thanks!

·
Registered
194 Posts
Lexapro is not addictive, although you just can't stop taking it. Your body gets used to it and you need to wean off of it when you stop it. It's not something you are "hooked on".spookywitch2000 If it made you feel better, then why not continue with that treatment. I would do anything to feel better.Good Luck jkb27.Lexapro is supposed to have fewer side effects then all the other SSRI's. There are a lot of others on this board who take Lexapro with good results.Take Care,Joyce

·
Registered
2,243 Posts
My daughter has OCD (an anxiety related disorder) and is on lexapro and is doing very well on it. If it makes you feel better then why not take it? If I could tolerate SSRI's I would take them in a heartbeat for depression and/or anxiety.

·
Registered
1 Posts