Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a new registered user, who has been recently diagnosed with IBS. I am D-type, and have no abdominal pain or bloating.What I do have is severe lower back spasm and pain with weakness in my left leg and sciatica. Have any of you ever experienced this, or does it sound like something other than IBS? Thanks so much for your help!! Emdria

·
Registered
6,922 Posts
Hi emdria, and welcome to the Board. I am IBS C&D, and also have lower back muscle spasms at time, but most of it is due to an old muscle tear injury. So I can't really say.I know a lot of people here have said they have back problems and feel that it is connected. But I don't think the weakness in your left leg and sciatica is caused by IBS. I'm not a doctor, though, so maybe someone else has more info.JeanG

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi there emdria, and welcome to the board!
Just wanted to say I am a C-type, and sometimes when I get the pain low on the left that so many of us talk about, I also experience back pain, and weakness and pain in my left leg ... it's a mystery to me, but I've always aassumed it must be due to a pinched nerve caused by the C!Julie

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have had terrible lower back problems on a regular basis with sciatic becoming a constant problem.I am currently looking at magnesium which apparently helps muscle function. Have been drinking Evian water for two weeks with great results with the bloating problem. I will be interested to see if it has any effect on the sciatica.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·