Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this so bear with me. I was diagnosed with IBS in February '98 after having surgery to have my left ovary removed. I was put on Librax which helped some but, made me quite depressed at times. I'm trying to control my diet, but it's hard. My doctor just switched me to Levbid. But there are still undesirable side effects. Any advise on medications? I've heard a little about Amitriptyline. ????

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Amber:You haven't told us anything about your symptoms, so it's hard to respond. BTW, I tried Levbid once. It gave me severe cramping, and I had to stop. It's not uncommon to have side effects to the various drugs that they experiment on us with. As to the amitryptiline, I can't say. Sounds pretty serious. What's it supposed to treat?bob

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Amitriptyline is an antidepressant with anticholinergic properties. I mostly want to treat the cramping and bloating. I don't usually have a problem with diarreah. I'm pretty sure my attacks are related to stress; Do all the medications that are antispasmodics cause drowsiness and disorientation? Thanks for your reply Bob.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·