Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If it's not one thing, it's another. My IBS has benn grand lately, if anything I've actually been constipated, which I'm not complaining about. But now I have the most painful canker sore on the tip of my tongue (and other on my cheek but not as painfull). I can't even talk properly, I sound drunk, and I can't eat either. I've always suffered on and off with this ugly sores, so I am an expert on medicines and SLS free toothpaste, but nothing is working on this one. The medicine doesn't stay on, as my tongue moves. I read somewhere that as the mouth is part of the digestive system, it can be related to IBS and chrown's, etc. sorry for the rant but I'm in sooo much pain!!

·
Registered
702 Posts
Get yourself tested for Helicobacter pylori infection.Note: the association between H. pylori and aphthous ulcers is controversial. However, given that testing for this bugger is cheap (urea breath test - if you have them in the mouth you most certainly have them in the stomach) it could be a great way to get rid of a potential source of infection and some "IBS symptoms".

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
{{{{{moni}}}}}... you poor soul! i feel your pain! last time i so stupidly mounched on my tongue and it took quite a few days for the wound to run its full course, even with VC, B2, etc! Nanobug's right, it's always safe to get tested.but in the mean time, do rant, it's totally okay! Hugs!!

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Cheri: thanks for the symphaty, it hurst so much, I can't pronounce my "T"'s so I have a lisp right now. Nanobug, I will ask my doctor about that test, thanks. I read today about applying tea tree oil directly onto the sores, and it's actually looking a little bit better. Thanks for letting me rant guys!

·
Registered
1,439 Posts