Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all : I have been coming here for 10 years; without help from the people here I would have probably had to have my colon removed. I took MOM for a long time; it made me sick; fortunately I found that taking Magnesium citrate pills does the job quite well; here is my problem; i am in my 60's and I take 1400 mg of mag every single day; it is the only thing that works. I have kidney function tests every year and so far, so good. but as one ages, the kidney's don't function the way they did when a person is younger and eventually i could have a problem taking the magnesium; i am trying to think of how to deal with this future possibility so i thought if I could take Miralax with the magnesium, i could reduce the magnesium; i tried Miralax by itself and it doesn't work for me; it was useless. I am looking for advice on how much miralax to take and how much i should reduce the magnesium to try and find a combination that would work for me. I really appreciate any help you can provide; this board has been a Godsend let me tell you.Thanks so muchMarilyn

·
Registered
34,955 Posts