Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, this is my first time to the website and after reading a lot of your posts, it made me feel like im not so isolated from the world. Currently I suffer from IBS (both diarahhea and constipation) since I was a 17, and I'm currently 24. At this point in my life I'm finishing up my M.B.A in finance, but the stress of once I get into the real world and find a job where I won't be consistenly looking for the bathroom sign worries me greatly. I take medication as well. It was a huge blow to me in high school since I played three sports a year and had a received a scholorship to play football in college. Either way, I hid that I had it from friends and soldiered on by playing division I college football for 3 years before it became too much. The stress, anxiety, constant being on the move, and lifestyle made my stomach spiral out of control to the point where I was like F it. As well as being in a fraternity in college and living in a house with 50 guys made it sometimes impossible to hide and drinking only accelerted my symptoms. I personally have only still told my family about my IBS and have never being able to tell my past girlfriends that I suffer from it. I think that is the point that hurts the most when it comes to hiding it. It's weird for me to be so forthcoming since I pride myself on being a man, but yet after passing this site, I felt the need to share my story since all of you did as well. I guess I am very much of a closet IBS sufferer, so any advice on treatments or recomendations would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
168 Posts