Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I've had problems with IBS since I was a kid, but I never got diagnosed with it until today. I'm a 24 year old student so it will be nice to be able to finish school without the constant problems and missing classes. I was given some medication that is supposed to help so I'm crossing my fingers. Does anyone have any advice for someone that is newly diagnosed?

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
Hi, BeatlesFan
I'm pretty new, too -- diagnosed last day of last Nov. I'm still in the process of trying stuff out, too... But there's tons of things to read here on this BB and everyone is so nice and helpful!Welcome!
P.s., I tried avtivia yogurt and fiber so far, they're both kinda helpful, though not ideal...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Has anyone tried Bentyl? My doctor gave this to me, but I've had no luck so far. I wanted to avoid medication and try just eating differently. Fiber and activia helped me a little too. Does anyone go the supplement route? Someone told me about a produce called Reliv that is suppose to help those that suffer with IBS, but I can not find it in stores.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I have two things that really trigger IBS-D for me. Fat is absolutely a killer; greasy food with a lot of fat usually means a strong D for me. Another one is coffee, but not just as strong. Eeverything is else I can eat, just not in large portion. So, the basic idea is to avoid fat and coffeine, and eat small portions but more often.

·
Registered
6,019 Posts
I've been using a flavonoid supplement (grape seed, ginko, etc.) that has kept it at bay for over 7 years.Mark

·
Registered
4,570 Posts