Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to this so still trying to figure out what I've got. Went to see the Doc because of severe abdominal pain, and he gave me a box of cereal. That night my husband had to take me to the emergency room with severe abdominal pain, vomiting, cold sweats, and fever. White blood count was 22.7 and I was really dehydrated, also had D and than nothing but blood. They keep me for 5 days on IV's and penicillin and was discharged when my white blood count reached 10. My doctor (which I don't want to see anymore) wants me back for a follow up in one week, thinks I just had a hemorrhoid. I would be interested to hear if anyone else has experienced the same symptoms. ------------------[This message has been edited by heyluci (edited 04-29-99).]

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
heyluci - welcome to the bb. Sorry to hear about your troubles. Five days in the hospital and they think it was just hemorrhoids??? I'm a little surprised about that! Did they do any tests while you were there to rule out more serious stuff?? Did the doctor actually diagnose IBS? It doesn't sound at all right to me. At any rate, glad you are here. I hope this all works out for you!Kathy

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
heyluci,its me ba ba loo,i agree with kathy,hemorrhoid,na!sounds as if you had some sort of infection with your white blood count being high,did you eat out some place and pick up a bug from some food?charlie

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Trying to figure out how to do this. Nothing showed up as far as food poisoning, appendix, etc. Picked up the reports yesterday and took them to a gastro doc. He is going to see me monday.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Didn't eat any seafood, and also didn't eat anything at a fastfood restaurant. Still having abdominal pain, can't eat very much at one time.

·
Registered
10,398 Posts