Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Digestive Health Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyonei am new to this forum but am an old time IBS sufferer.i have been experiencing symptoms for 6 years now and have gone through 4 years of uni without telling anyone and making up excuses along the way for my not ever wanting to go out much, my not wanting to drink etc etc.i was recently feeling so fed up and frustrated that when i finally graduated and moved back home to india (i studied in new york) my parents said it was time to haul me to the doc who promptly diagnosed me. and while i am now on some medication, and the frequency of loo visits have reduced, i still find it frustrating to have to plan my day according to when i will be moving.i move from IBS-D to IBS with bloating etc but am never truly constipated. i also almost ALWAYS have to press my stomach to push the stuff down and to release gas and was wondering if that is common with any of you?recently i have been reading up a lot more on the topic and find it empowering. but i am the kind of person who also finds comfort in talking about my symptoms with people who will be able to understand where i am coming from.reading some of the posts here i feel like there are people who feel the same as me.i can totally relate to waking up early to go before class, feeling the need to go during class (though now i am no longer studying)also the going out with friends also is an issue. they always think i have some hang up or the other and the friends who do know dont relaly understand and think i am making too big a deal about it.basically i am at a point when i have so much to talk and vent about that i dont know where to start.so i guess this is a good forum to join for support?sorry about this being so longbut i would appreciate any tips that any of you find useful in dealing with the issue.also one more thing that is REALLY on my mind and i would love some feedback on.